top of page

Hard decisions

Updated: Feb 4, 2020

It's never easy to say goodbye to something you love. This new location that I found for the store is just PERFECT.

Unfortunately, the past year has taken it's toll on my body and after much consideration [and nudging from my doctor's] I had to make a seriously hard decision...it is time to close the new store.


I am not sure how many of you remember, but I have a full time job in addition to owning the store.


Last year I ended up in the ER with medical issues. As I planned to move the store out of the the dilapidated former bar, I thought I had a good plan. I scheduled the move into containers, was packing up storage containers timed perfectly so that everything would be taken care of before the procedure.


Unfortunately, 5 days prior to the procedure I was startled out of bed by a knock at the door with the local police department banging to notify my that the store was on fire.


Timing could NOT be worse. AFib and a stressed heart are a bad combo. You are taken off the meds that help prevent stroke right before surgery. Be still my heart.


To say that the stress and chaos of trying to heal, fight Horvat to retrieve my items from the store and open a new location at the same time was stressful would be an understatement.


It feels like my body is fighting against me. As my care team works to get me healthy, I have been advised to not work so much.


Unfortunately, that means I have to say goodbye to the store. Owning a store means that it is the busiest time of the year. It piles on the hours [and stress]. It makes spending time with family and friends around the holidays non-existent. Thanksgiving is LATE this year, too. So as much as I would want to celebrate Small Business Saturday, it is best to close the weekend prior.


Winter has also hit considerably early. Moving in sub zero temps is NOT FUN. Oh and SNOW, why why why have we had so much snow already this season? My goodness!!

So it isn't all bad news.

The sooner I close the store, the quicker I get to concentrate on healing.

I excited that I will get to spend more times with friends and family over the holiday's.


I will post more projects and items for sale online AND... once I get permission from my care team, I can go back tomsome of my FAVORITE markets! This gives me the chance to scale back, address health issues but continue to have a presence for Loverly Cottage.


Even though the Gurnee location will close, Loverly Cottage will live on.


I have some fabulous things in the pipeline, and will be sure to share them with you as details are finalized. My favorite one that I can share is, I am planning a shopping trip to France and Italy and YOU will be given the opportunity to join the trip!! I am SO EXCITED!


There will also be a lifestyle bog coming out that will share DIY's, instructional videos, and more.


Thank you all for supporting my dream of Loverly Cottage.


I have been blessed to meet so many amazing people, many of whom I now consider good friends.


Most items will be going to my new space, others will be in storage.


If there is a piece of furniture you had your eye on, all finished furniture will be on sale this weekend for 30% off.


I hope you will stop in for a cup of tea and say goodbye [for now]. I have enjoyed getting to know you all and hearing everyone's stories.


With love and gratitude


Juliet





815 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page